A Very Inadequate ‘Thank You’

I’m proud of the country I live in.  I’m in awe of the men who, two-hundred some-odd years ago, had the courage to declare themselves free.

Not simply free from a tyrant king, but free.  The kind of freedom that comes from a Truth that is rock-solid and undeniable.

We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.

Now, a couple centuries and a handful of decades later, I get to enjoy the freedom they risked everything for.  The freedom so many men and women have dedicated their lives to.  The freedom so many have died for.

And on the 4th, I’m reminded just how good I’ve got it.  How blessed I am.

I’ll spend today like so many others – under a warm sun, next to a hot grill, ‘sploding things as the day turns into night.  Lounging on a blanket in the grass somewhere, watching the sky ignite as we remember those who died toiling for freedom.

We color their names in the sky, promising not to forget.  Promising not to squander what they gave us, paid for in the dearest currency known to man – sweat and blood.

To those of you who have served or are serving our country – thank you.  To those of you who have suffered loss on behalf of my freedom, I’m not sure a thank you is good enough.  My hat is in my hands and my tongue is tied.  There is no way to express the depth of gratitude I feel.

And to my forefathers, who first planted the seeds of this great country I live in, thank you.  May we live up to the dream that you had when you signed the Declaration.

6 thoughts on “A Very Inadequate ‘Thank You’

Leave a comment