The Letter ‘B’ to the Tenth Degree

 

Ten things.

Ten things I love.

Ten things I love that begin with ‘B’.

(Why? Ask Ellen Gregory.)

 

 

English: An Amish barn in Pennsylvania.

English: An Amish barn in Pennsylvania. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

(1) Barns. I grew up on a farm.  When I was little I loved going out to milk cows with my grandpa in the morning. The barn on his place was a homesteader’s barn, over a hundred years old.  The outside was a crisp red and white, but inside everything was a shade of brown.  Dusty brown.  Animal-y brown.  It smelled of hay and horses and cattle – sweet and earthy.  I had my own stool and I’d sit next to him, lap full of greedy kittens, petting the old cow while he milked.  I liked the way she’d moo softly while she chewed her hay.  I liked the way the heat from her milk made the bucket warm to the touch.  I liked the way my grandpa worked in silence – not stiff silence, but companionable silence.  Even though I was little, he didn’t feel the need to entertain me.  Even though he was old and stern I wasn’t afraid of his silence.  Those were nice moments, and because of them, I love barns.

 

Scranton, PA, USA, welcome sign formerly displ...

Scranton, PA, USA, welcome sign formerly displayed along I-81 and filmed there for opening credits of US version of The Office. Now on display in Mall at Steamtown food court, where this photograph was taken. Neither text nor font designs are eligible for copyright in US, and this sign is on display in a public place, thus covered by freedom of panorama. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

(2)  “Beets, Bears, Battlestar Galactica.”  That is to say, I love The Office.  Really, it means I love to laugh.  But since ‘laughing’ and ‘The Office’ don’t start with the letter ‘B’, I say I love “Beets, Bears, Battlestar Galactica.”  If you love The Office, too, you know what I’m talking about.  If you don’t, you probably think I’ve got a screw loose.  And you probably wouldn’t be too far off in that assumption.

 

A brand new Miss Took.

(3)  Babies.  Oh my goodness, babies are the best.  Human babies are my favorite – at the moment, a certain little Took has completely stolen my heart – but babies in general are just unbeatable.

 

(4)  Books.  Without books I would have had a very lonely childhood.  Without books I wouldn’t have an occupation.  Without books I wouldn’t have an education.  Without books my understanding of the world and my place in it would be quite different, and certainly more bleak.  A world without books would be a sad place indeed.

 

Coffee

Coffee (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

(5)  Bold coffee.  Because if your spoon doesn’t stand up in it, if it doesn’t make hair sprout up on your chest, if it doesn’t produce a BM within twenty minutes of consumption, it doesn’t deserve the name ‘coffee’.

 

(6)  Bedtime.  I love going to bed after a full day, nestling down under a mountain of blankets, and drifting off to the Land of Nod.  Bedtime’s the best.

 

Kealakekua Bay, Big Island, Hawai'i (panorama)

Kealakekua Bay, Big Island, Hawai’i (panorama) (Photo credit: Yaisog Bonegnasher)

(7)  Big Island, Hawaii.  Even though we haven’t lived there in years – and probably never will again – it will always hold a special place in my heart.  If you haven’t been, and you have any means to at all, you should definitely go.  You won’t regret it, promise.

 

(8)  Bingo.  ‘Cause one day I’m gonna be the granny with blue hair who cheats just to live dangerously.  That’s how I roll.  Bingo!

 

(9)  Bras.  Because without ’em, the sistas would be hangin’ long-n-low.

 

Rotten Bananas

Rotten Bananas (Photo credit: Ivy Dawned)

(10)  Bad bananas.  Without them we wouldn’t have banana bread, and that, my friends, would be a crime against humanity.

 

Do you want to play along? Let me know in the comments and I’ll throw a letter your way.  You can list your ten loves in the comments or in your own blog post.

 

Cheers!

 

Myn

p.s. For more things I love (that may or may not start with the letter ‘B’), check out my Pinterest boards So Cute I Just Might Die, and Straight-Up, Flat-Out Cool.

 

 

 

24 thoughts on “The Letter ‘B’ to the Tenth Degree

  1. jansenschmidt says:

    I’ll play too! No Q, Z, or X.

    Love the barn and baby pix. My grand daddy had a big ole barn too, but I never lived near him so I didn’t get the same special memory you have. It was fun to visit in the summers though.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

  2. Coleen Patrick says:

    I’ve never been to Hawaii, but I love the rest of your B’s–especially babies. That pic of your little one looks like an Anne Gedde pic–so adorable 🙂
    Oh and I totally think Dwight is a hilarious nut case.
    I would like to play along too, but please no “hard” letters, my brain is too mushy!

  3. Karen McFarland says:

    I love your sense of humor Myndi! “if it doesn’t produce a BM within twenty minutes of consumption, it doesn’t deserve the name ‘coffee’.” LOL! And what is not to love about our babies? Love ’em, love ’em! And of course, banana bread. Now you’ve made me hungry for banana bread. Thanks. 🙂

  4. Reetta Raitanen says:

    What a fun challenge. I loved your B words. What a lovely photo of little miss Took. And I’m officially envious of you. You’ve lived in Hawaii! 😀 Tell us about it. I’d love a fairly easy letter too. Thanks for saving me from topic brainstorming.

Leave a comment