Silly Soapbox: Beer-Can Barriers

Sometimes I wonder how many of my so-called ‘problems’ are very much like this:

Seemingly impossible to fix from my perspective.  Laughable from the outside.  “Stupid girl!  Why doesn’t she just knock the cans over and get her squeaky toy?”

Oh, the beer-can barriers of life!  The things we let the world convince us of!  The things we convince ourselves of!   *bangs fist on podium*  Let us take back our right to wide open spaces filled with squeaky-toy goodness!  Let us shrug off the shackles of the empty can and say the words every aluminum product fears: I will recycle you, mutha-trucka!

*takes a moment to regain composure*

What are your beer can barriers?  What kind of funny tricks do you make your pets do for a giggle?  Let’s chat.

17 thoughts on “Silly Soapbox: Beer-Can Barriers

  1. Tameri Etherton says:

    I will recycle you, mutha-trucka! Ohmygosh! You say the darndest things.

    You know, all laughing aside (once I’m done laughing), you pose an interesting question. That poor little dog just couldn’t get past the cans. What are my soda cans? I need to think about this, but not yet. After I’m done laughing. I so needed this today! Thanks!!

  2. lynnkelleyauthor says:

    Wow, that’s a mind-boggling video. I wonder how many dogs that would work with. It wouldn’t faze any of my dogs. They’d barrel right through those beer cans! And probably lick the last drop off every last can, too! LOL!

  3. Patricia says:

    That is awesome Myndi! I have a big dumb lab named Sherlock, but don’t let the name fool you. He is no detective. He falls for the fake throw almost every single time.

    What a great post for a long boring Monday!

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

  4. Shannon Esposito says:

    I have a aging Golden, too! She’s 10 & the princess of the family. What I want to know is…how did these people figure out that they could box their dog in with beer cans? I would never think to do that…lol.

    Anyway, yep…I agree, this makes me evaluate my own beer can barriers…hmmm

  5. Emma Burcart says:

    What you said is so spot-on. It’s like the video the secret, but funny. Most of our barriers are actually in our minds. It reminds me of that story about how they train elephants, where they put them on a short rope and the elephants never move further than the rope would allow them, even when the rope is gone. I think it’s elephants. Anyway, the idea is the same. But the beer can image is more fun.

  6. Debra Kristi says:

    Poor little puppy, so confused by the beer cans. She was probably afraid of spilling some beer. Wouldn’t you say? She’s smart enough to know you don’t want to lose a drop into the carpet. Not smart enough to realize the cans were empty. Doh! 🙂

  7. Jennette Marie Powell says:

    LOL funny video! Oh, yeah, we do things like that to ourselves – I know I do! In my writing, of course. It seems especially prevalent in my day job field (computer programming). Good thing we have teammates to tell us when we’re making something harder than it is. Same for writing friends!

Leave a comment