ROW80: Check in, Week 01

This week has gone well.  Very well.

All too well.

*cue low, creepy music*  *eyes dart to and fro suspiciously*  *paranoia perches itself on shoulder, hisses softly in my ear*

Seriously, I couldn’t be happier about how this week went, and I’m feeling upbeat and optimistic about the coming one.  In terms of my goals, here’s what I’m looking at:

*30 minutes of prepped writing a day*  This went fabulously well.  I’m finding that those thirty minutes are serving to be the ‘test mile’ Kait Nolan blogged about last week – most days I stretched those thirty minutes into an hour or more of dedicated writing time because once I got into the groove, I just kept going as long as my responsibilities would allow.  It was fabulous.  I met this goal (or exceeded it) every day this week.  The temptation is there to revamp this goal, and make the goal time something longer, but I’m going to hold off for a couple of weeks to make sure I can keep up this pace.  Prepping is really easy right now – I’m in editing mode on my WIP, so there’s really no planning or research involved at this stage.  I’m really, really hopeful I’ll be ready to have some beta-readers look at this draft before offspring #4 shows up.  We shall see!

*Baby steps toward moving every day*  This has also gone well – I’ve nailed those initial 5 minutes, plus some, every single day – except one.  Friday was brutal…the night before Shafer #4 had her own little all-night rave in my belly – so much so that it woke the hubster up.  There was no sleeping for me Friday night, so I made up for it during the day.  Which meant exercise went out the window.  The cool thing about those 5 minutes is that they’re like a little ‘test mile’, too.  Once I get moving, it feels great, and I want to keep going.  I’m also taking part in Ginger Calem’s #writersbutt – I highly recommend you check it out!  Ginger’s fab, and fun, and really knows her stuff…even if she has us doing potty squats.  Message her on Twitter to find out what that is.

*Doing something good for myself once a week*  This one is the hardest of them all – it’s easy to get caught up in mommy-mode and leave myself (or any little luxuries for myself) in the dust.  But I’m determined!  This week I think I did great – I treated myself to new much-needed bedding (oh my goodness, our old comforter was bona-fide scary).  I felt so guilty walking out of the store with giant bundles of linens under my arms, but now that it’s home, and on the bed, and oh-so-pretty, I’m good with it.

*Read, every day*  And I have!  It’s always in small chunks – these days it’s pretty hard to find the time to curl up and utterly lose myself in words, but I’ve managed to scrimp a few minutes here and there together every day.  I’m hopeful that in the next few weeks I’ll feel comfortable enough to set an actual time target for this goal!

So, yeah.  Feeling pretty good about it right now.  Thanks for stopping by, ROW80 lovelies!  Hope your week was a success as well!

21 thoughts on “ROW80: Check in, Week 01

  1. Gloria Richard Author says:

    Woot, Myndi on your successful week. I’m off to create a tab *shudder* for Row 80 and the LIFE LIST CLUB.

    NOTE TO SELF: Google instructions first. Do NOT let new tab gobble existing ones. It can happen. I know.

    Must check out the captions from your post yesterday. That pic was too funny!

  2. Gene Lempp says:

    Great job on your goals, Myndi! Now all you have to do is get Shafer #4 to Jazzercise with you and maybe she’ll let you sleep on occasion 🙂

    All the best for the coming week.

  3. Elen Grey says:

    It’s so nice to come across a post that starts with, “This week has gone well. Very well.” followed by an expression of abundant happiness. Well done Miss Myndi!

  4. Sheila Seabrook says:

    Wow, Myndi, you did fantastic! This week, I added a reading goal to my ROW80 goals because I’ve been spending time playing on my iPad instead of reading in the evening.

    Good luck for the upcoming week!

  5. Debra Kristi says:

    Great job Myndi! I like your reading goal. I have one on mine but I like the way yours is phrased better. It works better for the busy schedule. I’m amazed at all you do. I think when I was prego all I wanted to do was sleep. 🙂

  6. Rachel Funk Heller says:

    Myndi, so glad to hear that your process is going so well. Don’t feel guilty about the bedding, think of it as an investment in potential cuddling with the hubbster and the new bebe. And please, do do something nice for yourself, you deserve it. How can you be there for all your loved ones if the well is dry? I’m out here cheering you on sistah!

  7. Jennifer L. Oliver says:

    Awesome job, Myndi!
    I really don’t know how you do it with three children, a hubby, and pregnant to boot. There’s no way I could do as much as you do. So great job and I know you’ll do great this coming week as well.
    Jennifer

  8. Karen McFarland says:

    Well Myndi, What a fabulous week! And good for you, buying yourself some luxurious linens! Girl we are in that bed for a third of our life, so you might as well enjoy it! Only, what are we going to do with that party baby? I can see that all the Shafer’s are very active people! Thanks Myndi for all your support. It means so much coming from you with all that you have going on in your life right now. Enjoy it kiddo. This time passes by so quickly. Savor every second!
    Keep doing what your doing. It’s working! 🙂

  9. Tia Bach says:

    Sounds like you are in the groove. I laughed with your beginning part as I often feel that way when things are running smoothly. 😉 Kait’s test mile really inspired me as well. It’s a way to get my butt in the chair and just write, and that’s what it’s all about.

    Isn’t it sad that doing something for ourselves is usually the hardest goal. I’m a mom to three, so I get it. I scheduled 4 days away with some girlfriends this week and I’m freaking out. Never left my family that long. I know I’ll have fun but guilt and trying to plan ahead are overwhelming me right now.

    Good luck this week! Looking forward to following your progress this round.

  10. Eden says:

    *Thumbs up*

    Please, let me echo others who say you should do something for yourself. And not just every week, but every day! Even if it a small thing, like having an extra five minutes to stare at the sunrise/-set with a warm cup of coffee (tea) alone or being just held comfortingly with someone you love…. Take it. You deserve it.

    As for reading? A little trick you might be able to use that I used when I had my son (he was my first, so I don’t know how it will work with Shafer #4): I used to read during nursing times aloud to Marcus… EVERYTHING. The back of the cereal box, the newspaper articles I had bookmarked at the time, my writing magazines…

    It’s not real quiet “alone with a book” reading time, but thought I’d toss it out in case it might help.

Leave a comment